Redcliffs Primary School first opened its doors to pupils on 16 September 1907. The opening of the one classroom school was a direct response to the increase in the permanent, and part-time, local Redcliffs population. This increase was in part due to a causeway which had been built in 1907 to allow electric trams to link the city to the seaside area. With the road added to the causeway in 1942 the population of the area continued to rise, and continues to do so. Today the school numbers 18 classrooms and a roll of 412.
Even though the original school was a single classroom in which to teach 50 pupils there had been enough forsight to secure spacious grounds for future development. Early school committees, Education Boards and the Ministry of Education willingly purchased available land whenever it came up for sale. The latest land purchase was in 2005 of 4000m2 (1 acre).
Redcliffs Primary School takes its name from the local area – Te Rae Kura, meaning ‘red, glowing headlands’. The red cliffs behind the school are a part of this headland and provide a unique backdrop to the school.
The school crest displays the Moa, due to the fact that Moa bones were discovered in a cave close to the school - Moa Bone Point Cave - by sailors in 1849.
There are four school houses, named after the four ships that sailed into Lyttelton Harbour carrying the first settlers. These are Cressy (blue), Seymour (red), Randolph (green) and Charlotte Jane (yellow).
1 media item
1 media item